skip navigation

Sign Up for E-mail Updates

Facebook Twitter Pinterest YouTube RSS
Standard View
Charles L. Vickers

Charles L. Vickers

United States Mint

Charles L. Vickers was born and raised in northeast Texas. After a tour of duty with the Army’s 101st Airborne Division, he went to New York to study at the Art Students League and Frank Reilly School of Art. He also attended the Pratt Institute and the School of Visual Arts.

In 1976, Vickers moved to Pennsylvania and began a successful career at the Franklin Mint. Since leaving as a senior sculptor in 1985 and establishing his own studio, Vickers’ design work has earned him recognition throughout the world, and he has been commissioned to work on many private collections. Among his private sculpting credits are the official medal of the Ronald Reagan Library, the Four Pillars of Freedom set in the Ronald Reagan Library, the official christening medal of The U.S.S. Ronald Reagan, the official U.S.S. Ronald Reagan Captain’s Medal, the Pope John Paul II 25th Anniversary Medal and the 2001 George W. Bush official inaugural medal (design and sculpt).

Vickers joined the United States Mint’s sculpting-engraving staff in December 2003, creating most medals, coins and designs in bas-relief.

Coin Sculpting and Design Credits

  • 2012 First Spouse Gold Coin – Caroline Harrison reverse (sculpt)
  • 2012 America the Beautiful Quarters® Program – Hawai’i Volcanoes National Park reverse (design and sculpt)
  • 2011 First Spouse Gold Coin – Julia Grant reverse (sculpt)
  • 2011 U.S. Army Commemorative Coin – clad obverse (sculpt)
  • 2011 America the Beautiful Quarters Program – Glacier Park National Park reverse (sculpt)
  • 2010 Boy Scouts of America Centennial Silver Dollar obverse (sculpt)
  • 2010 Native American $1 Coin reverse (sculpt)
  • 2010 Presidential $1 Coin – Franklin Pierce obverse (sculpt)
  • 2010 First Spouse Gold Coin – Jane Pierce reverse (sculpt)
  • 2009 Lincoln Bicentennial One-Cent Coin – Formative Years in Indiana reverse (design and sculpt)
  • 2009 First Spouse Gold Coin – Margaret Taylor obverse (sculpt)
  • 2009 First Spouse Gold Coin – Anna Harrison reverse (sculpt)
  • 2009 Presidential $1 Coin – James K. Polk obverse (sculpt)
  • 2009 District of Columbia and U.S. Territories Quarters Program – American Samoa reverse (sculpt)
  • 2008 First Spouse Gold Coin – Elizabeth Monroe reverse (sculpt)
  • 2008 50 State Quarters® Program – Alaska reverse (sculpt)
  • 2008 American Eagle Platinum Coin reverse (sculpt)
  • 2008 Bald Eagle Commemorative Coin – clad reverse (sculpt)
  • 2007 Little Rock High School Commemorative Coin – silver obverse (sculpt)
  • 2007 Jamestown Commemorative Coin – silver reverse (sculpt)
  • 2007 First Spouse Gold Coin – Thomas Jefferson’s Liberty reverse (design and sculpt)
  • 2007 50 State Quarters Program – Washington reverse (sculpt)
  • 2007 Presidential $1 Coin – John Adams obverse (sculpt)
  • 2006 50 State Quarters Program – Nebraska reverse (design and sculpt)
  • 2006 Benjamin Franklin Commemorative Coin – Scientist reverse (design and sculpt)
  • 2006 San Francisco Old Mint Commemorative – gold obverse (design)
  • 2005 50 State Quarters Program – Minnesota reverse (design and sculpt)
  • 2005 Marine Corps 230th Anniversary Silver Dollar reverse (design and sculpt)

Medal Sculpting Credits:

  • 2010 Nisei Soldiers of World War II Congressional Gold Medal obverse (sculpt)
  • 2003 Briggs v. Elliott/Brown v. Board of Education Congressional Gold Medal obverse (design and sculpt)
The Department of the Treasury Seal