skip navigation
Standard View
Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Mount Rushmore National Memorial

The Mount Rushmore National Memorial is the fifth of 2013 and the 20th overall in the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program. Over the decades, Mount Rushmore has grown in fame as a symbol of America - a symbol of freedom and hope for people from all cultures and backgrounds. The sculpture, located in the scenic Black Hills of South Dakota, features the heads of former Presidents George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln. It was first established as a national site March 3, 1925 (43 Stat. 1214).

2013 Mount Rushmore Uncirculated Quarter

The reverse design was inspired by photos of men who are adding the final details to Thomas Jefferson's face. Mount Rushmore was featured on three 1991 Mount Rushmore Golden Anniversary Commemorative Coins and on the 2006 South Dakota quarter issued under the 50 State Quarters® Program. This new design is distinctly different and offers a unique and educational perspective on how Mount Rushmore was created and sculpted. Inscriptions are MOUNT RUSHMORE, SOUTH DAKOTA, 2013 and E PLURIBUS UNUM. Design candidates were developed in consultation with representatives of Mount Rushmore National Memorial.

Additional Links

America the Beautiful Quarters® Program products
Browse our Online Store for all the latest America the Beautiful Quarters Program products. From annual sets to bags and rolls to our America the Beautiful subscription program, we have everything you need.

Mount Rushmore National Memorial, South Dakota - Established: March 3, 1925 - Jurisdiction: South Dakota - Federal Entity:  National Park Service - Area: 1,278 acres