skip navigation
Print Friendly

Code Talkers Recognition Congressional Medals Program

Flip through the medals using the back and forward arrows above
or use the list below to view details and high-resolution images.

On November 20, 2013, in Emancipation Hall at the U.S. Capitol, 33 tribes were recognized for the dedication and valor of Native American code talkers to the U.S. Armed Services during World Wars I and II. Of the tribes recognized, 25 were presented with their Congressional Gold Medals.

Choose a tribe/nation from the following list to view its medal:

Six additional tribes are eligible and will receive their Congressional Gold Medals at a future date. They are:

  • Lower Brule Sioux Tribe
  • Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes
  • Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Tribe
  • Pueblo of Laguna
  • Rosebud Tribe
  • Mohawk Tribe

Pueblo of Acoma Tribe (New Mexico) Code Talkers Medal Obverse

Magnifying glass

Obverse (above)
High-resolution image

Pueblo of Acoma Tribe (New Mexico) Code Talkers Medal Reverse

Magnifying glass

Reverse (above)
High-resolution reverse

Pueblo of Acoma Tribe
(New Mexico)


Designer: Donna Weaver
Engraver: Michael Gaudioso

The obverse design features a Pueblo of Acoma code talker scouting the area during his tour of duty in the South Pacific. Inscriptions are PUEBLO OF ACOMA and CODE TALKERS.


Designer: Donna Weaver
Engraver: Renata Gordon

The reverse design features the Pueblo of Acoma flag. Clans depicted in the flag are the antelope (at the top center); the road runner, turkey, parrot, oak and mustard seed (to the left); and an eagle, sun, bear, pumpkin, and red and yellow corn (to the right). In the center (bottom to top) are water, Abraham Lincoln’s Cane of Authority presented to the tribe in 1864, Pueblo of Acoma Sky City Village and wind. Inscriptions are WORLD WAR II and ACT OF CONGRESS 2008.

Note: Move your mouse over the images of the coin to zoom in on its detail.

The Program

The Code Talkers Recognition Act of 2008 (Act) (Public Law 110-420) requires the Secretary of the Treasury to strike Congressional Medals in recognition of the dedication and valor of Native American code talkers to the U.S. Armed Services during World War I and World War II. “Code talkers” refers to those Native Americans who used their tribal languages as a means of secret communication during wartime.

Under the Act, unique gold medals are struck for each Native American tribe that had a member who served as a code talker. Silver duplicate medals are presented to the specific code talkers, their next of kin, or other personal representatives. In addition, bronze duplicates are available for sale to the public.

The Navajo Nation was awarded Congressional Gold Medals in 2001 under Public Law 106-554.

Additional Information Resources