skip navigation
Print Friendly

The New Frontier Bronze Medal

The Honorees
This bronze medal is a duplicate of the New Frontier Congressional Gold Medal awarded to astronauts John Herschel Glenn Jr., Neil A. Armstrong, Edwin E. "Buzz" Aldrin Jr. and Michael Collins in recognition of their significant contributions to society, including:

  • John Glenn helped pave the way for the first lunar landing when he became the first American to orbit the Earth on February 20, 1962.
  • Neil Armstrong, as mission commander for Apollo 11, gained the distinction of being the first astronaut to land a craft on the moon and to step on its surface on July 21, 1969.
  • Buzz Aldrin joined Neil Armstrong in piloting the lunar module, Eagle, and became the second person to walk on the lunar surface.
  • Michael Collins piloted the command module, Columbia, in lunar orbit and helped his fellow Apollo 11 astronauts complete their mission on the moon.

The actions of all four astronauts continue to greatly inspire the people of the United States and entire world.

The Medal
The obverse (heads side), designed by United States Mint Artistic Infusion Program (AIP) Master Designer Joel Iskowitz and sculpted by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Phebe Hemphill, depicts the portraits of Apollo 11 astronauts Neil A. Armstrong, Michael Collins, and Edwin E. "Buzz" Aldrin Jr. facing left, and Friendship 7 astronaut John Herschel Glenn Jr. facing right, representing the two historic missions. The design also features a partial view of the Earth from orbit, as well as a horizon line with an astronaut walking on the lunar surface facing the flag. The names of all four astronauts – JOHN GLENN, NEIL ARMSTRONG, MICHAEL COLLINS and BUZZ ALDRIN – are inscribed along the outer rim.

The reverse (tails), also designed by Iskowitz and sculpted by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Don Everhart, features the Lunar Excursion Module orbiting the moon and the Friendship 7 mission capsule orbiting the Earth with the inscription WE CAME IN PEACE FOR ALL MANKIND.

Design: Obverse: Joel Iskowitz
Sculpted by: Phebe Hemphill
Reverse: Joel Iskowitz
Sculpted by: Don Everhart
Authorizing Legislation: Public Law 111-44
Place Minted: United States Mint at Philadelphia (no mint mark)

View all the
Medals Products

The New Frontier Bronze Medal
The New Frontier Bronze Medal

See other medals: