skip navigation

Main Navigation Menu

Presidential $1 Coin Program
Image shows the back of a Presidential $1 coin. Image shows some of the edge lettering, where the mint mark, In God we trust, E Pluribus Unum, and the coin’s date appear. Icon shows a Presidential $1 coin and the words Teachers, Lesson Plans.

The Presidential $1 Coin Program will run for about 10 years beginning in 2007.  It honors all the past Presidents of the United States who have been dead for at least two years, in the order in which they served in office.  Circulating beside the Sacagawea dollar coin, four new Presidential $1 coins will be struck every year, as listed below.

For each President, the front of the coin will feature the President's portrait, name, and years the President's term began and ended.  An image of the Statue of Liberty will appear on the back of each coin.

Click to read more about the back of the Presidential $1 coin.

Learn more about the First Spouse coins.

To learn more about a President, click on a name in the list below.

37. Richard M. Nixon
38. Gerald Ford

Return to Coins and Medals

Bottom Navigation Menu