Fun Fact

Some coins bear a mark of distinction... Each branch of the United States Mint has a code letter called a "mint mark" to show which branch struck a coin, but not every coin has a mint mark. The Mint has used seven different mint marks for eight branches because one mark was recycled! Denver's "D" used to stand for "Dahlonega" (Georgia), a branch that closed during the Civil War.