50 State Quarters

The 50 State Quarters Program ended in 2008—its tenth year—with its final five coins.

Here’s how the program worked: In 1999, the United States Mint began striking a new quarter about every ten weeks to honor one of the 50 states—that is, five new quarters every year—until the program ended. The quarters were struck in the same order as the states’ “birthdays,” as listed below.

  • To learn about the designs, click on the state’s name in the list below.
  • Test your state smarts with our Travel Guide Quiz.
  • Teachers, check out our free lesson plans based on these quarters…and learn how you can have a State Quarter Day in the Classroom!