skip navigation
Print Friendly

William McKinley: 25th President (1897 – 1901)

View all the
Presidential $1 Coin Products

2013 Presidential $1 Uncirculated Coin: William McKinley
2013 William McKinley
Presidential $1 Uncirculated Coin

Presidential $1 Uncirculated Coin Reverse
Presidential $1 Uncirculated Coin

William McKinley was born in Niles, Ohio, in 1843.  He served in the U.S. House of Representatives for 14 years and two terms as governor of Ohio before becoming President in 1897.  He served one full term and was re-elected in 1900.  President McKinley was shot by an anarchist in September 1901 while attending the Buffalo Pan-American Exposition and died eight days later.

Coinage legislation under President McKinley

  • Act of March 3, 1899: Authorized the coinage of silver dollars, now known as the Lafayette dollar, struck in commemoration of the erection of a monument to General Lafayette, in the city of Paris, France

United States Mint Directors Appointed by President McKinley

  • George Evan Roberts of Iowa — 1898 – 1907
The United States Mint Coins and Medals Program