skip navigation
Print Friendly

Reverse of the Presidential $1 Coin
Reverse of the Presidential dollar.

Obverse design from the Presidential $1 Coins program.


Presidential $1 Coin

Other Circulating Coins:
Penny  |  Nickel  |  Dime  |   Quarter  |   Half Dollar  |   Native American $1

Current Designs

Obverse (heads): The United States Mint is honoring our presidents by issuing $1 coins featuring their images in the order they served in office.  Each coin’s obverse features a president’s portrait with inscriptions of his name, order in which he served, years of service, and IN GOD WE TRUST.  The United States Mint issues four Presidential $1 Coins each year as part of annual coin sets and other numismatic products.

Common Reverse (tails): A striking rendition of the Statue of Liberty with the inscriptions UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and $1.

Edge: Incused inscriptions of the year, mint mark, and E PLURIBUS UNUM.


The word "dollar" comes from the German word "Thaler," a large silver German coin. The dollar was one of the first silver coins made, in 1794.  Since then the dollar coin has been minted periodically with different versions of Liberty and other individuals on the obverse, including those of President Dwight D. Eisenhower (1971-1978) and suffragist Susan B. Anthony (1979-1981, 1999).  The Presidential $1 Coin Program launched in 2007.

Learn more about the Presidential $1 Coin Program and view designs.

Production figures for circulating coins by denomination are updated monthly.

Note: Presidential $1 coins are circulating quality produced as collectibles, not for everyday transactions. However, they may be still used as legal tender.

Shop related products.