Mint Sends Fine Arts Commission Dollar Coin Design Finalists

December 17, 1998
3 Sacagawea Obverse and 4 Eagle Reverse Candidates Are Favorites Culled from Public Comment

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Mint Director Philip N. Diehl today announced that the Mint is forwarding seven dollar coin design finalists to the Commission of Fine Arts on Thursday, December 17.

The three Sacagawea obverse and four Eagle reverse designs are drawn from the 13 designs distributed to the media and posted on the Mint website on Monday, December 7. The Mint web page has been revised to reflect the finalist designs, and the Mint will continue to receive and analyze public comment until December 28, when the designs will be forwarded to Secretary of the Treasury Robert E. Rubin for final approval.

“This is the first time the public has had such an integral role in selecting the design of a circulating coin,”said Mint Director Philip N. Diehl. “The Internet has allowed us to conduct a public outreach program of unprecedented scope to measure opinions of the designs,” said Director Diehl. “In a little over one week, we’ve received more than 90,000 e–mails, and several thousand faxes and letters, with an overwhelming majority supporting the Sacagawea design and indicating specific favorites. We’re gratified at this reaction, and confident that these designs have captured the imagination of the American people.”

In August, the Mint invited twenty–three artists to submit obverse and reverse designs for the new dollar coin. The artists were requested to be sensitive to cultural and historical authenticity and to specifically avoid creating a representation of a classical European face in Native American headdress. The artists were also requested to create reverse eagle designs that symbolize peace and freedom.

The Mint received 121 obverse and reverse designs that were reviewed by representatives of the Native American community, artists, educators, historians, numismatists, Members of Congress, and other invited guests and members of the Commission of Fine Arts. Based on these comments, the Mint narrowed the field to thirteen designs. Secretary Rubin selected the Sacagawea design concept following a citizen’s advisory committee recommendation in June.

The finalist designs are displayed on the Internet at, and alternatively, comments may be submitted in writing to.

Michael White
633 3rd Street, NW, Room 715
Washington, D.C. 2022.

or may be faxed to 202/874–4083.

For additional information, please contact Michael White at 202/874–3134 or visit the website at the address above.

Note to Editors: Images of the dollar coin design finalists are available to be downloaded from the website in TIF format under Reading Room, Downloads and Press Photo Area at

  • Obverse design finalists: numbers 97, 99 and 123.
  • Reverse design finalists: numbers 15, 35, 36 &117.

# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.