America the Beautiful Quarters

SVG not supported

In 2010, the United States Mint began to issue quarters in the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program. By the time the program ends in 2021, there will be a total of 56 quarter-dollar coins released. Each design will focus on a different national site in each state, territory, and the District of Columbia. The map above shows the location of the current year’s national sites.

The Obverse

Although each back (reverse) will be different, each front (obverse) will be the same. Each coin in the series features the portrait of George Washington by John Flanagan, used on the quarter since 1932. The image has been refined to bring out the details and the beauty of the original model.

The standard inscriptions are include: “UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,” “LIBERTY,” “IN GOD WE TRUST,” and “QUARTER DOLLAR.”

The Reverse

Reverse designs for 56 national sites were chosen. The schedule below shows the release order of the coins.

The Schedule