Mint Director Announces Completion of Two Additional Chief Justice Medals

Press Release
July 20, 1978

Historic Press Release, July 29, 1978. Full text is duplicated in the body of this page.Mrs. Stella B. Hackel, Director of the Mint, today announced the completion of two additional medals of the Chief Justices of the United States Series. The medals honoring Earl Warren and John Rutledge are now available for sale to the public along with those commemorating John Jay and Warren Burger.

The Chief Justice Warren medal, designed by Michael Iacocca, a Sculptor-Engraver at the U.S. Mint in Philadelphia, has the inscription, “14th Chief Justice Earl Warren,” surrounding the high relief portrait. The medal honoring the 2nd Chief Justice, John Rutledge, was designed by Edgar Steever, also a Sculptor-Engraver at the Philadelphia Mint. Chief Justice Rutledge is depicted in the dress of his day rather than in robes of the High Court as are the other Chief Justices. The reverse sides of all four medals are inscribed, “The Supreme Court of the United States,” and display the seal of the Supreme Court.

Each antique bronze, three-inch medal may be purchased for $6.00 from the Bureau of the Mint Sales Areas at the Philadelphia Mint, the Denver Mint, the San Francisco Old Mint, and the Main Treasury Building in Washington, D.C. Each medal may also be ordered by mail from the Mint. Please send a money order or check for $6.30 made payable to the Bureau of the Mint and mail to:

Bureau of the Mint
55 Mint Street
San Francisco, CA 94175

Content last updated on

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.