San Francisco Numismatic Employees Receive Awards

Press Release
March 10, 1972

San Francisco Numismatic Employees Receive Awards, March 10, 1972. Full text is duplicated in the body of this page.

Frank H. MacDonald, Deputy Director of the Mint, on behalf of the Director of the Mint, Mrs. Mary Brooks, today presented Special Service Awards to 90 employees of the Numismatic Service Division of the San Francisco Assay Office.

The cash awards, totalling $4,710.00, were made in recognition of their outstanding performance in handling a 62 percent increase in their workload under pressure of severe time limits and employee hiring ceilings.

The employees chosen for the special awards were especially cited by the Director of the Mint for remarkable efficiency and expeditious processing of the Eisenhower proof and uncirculated dollar programs, two major new programs added last August to the regular proof and uncirculated coin set programs.

From August, 1971, through January, 1972, the employees of the Mail, Files and Control Branch processed 2,400,000 Eisenhower proof and regular 1972 proof coin set orders.

During the same 5½ month period the Correspondence-Tracer/Claims Branch and Research Library handled 345,000 pieces of mail and other communications.

Working three shifts a day the Data Processing Branch during the same time period attained an output of 6.4 million order cards for the regular 1972 proof and uncirculated sets.

The cash awards were presented at ceremonies at the Numismatic Service Division, 50 Fell Street, San Francisco, California, location of the Mint’s data processing center for special coin orders.

At special ceremonies at the Federal Building, an Honor Award, the highest form of recognition within the Bureau of the Mint, was received by John F. Brekle, Officer in Charge of the San Francisco Assay Office, on behalf of all employees of the Numismatic Service Division. Charls E. Walker, Under Secretary of the Treasury, presented the Award given in recognition of the special achievements of the Mint’s Numismatic Service Division. Deputy Director MacDonald represented Director Brooks.

Content last updated on