Swearing in Ceremony of Elizabeth Jones, Chief Sculptor-Engraver of the U.S.

Press Release
October 27, 1981

Today at the U.S. Mint in Philadelphia, Miss Elizabeth Jones was sworn in as the Chief Sculptor-Engraver of the United States by Director of the Mint Donna Pope. Guests at the ceremony included Miss Bay Buchanan, Treasurer of the United States; Miss Eva Adams, former Director of the Mint; Mr. Anthony Murray, Superintendent of the U.S. Mint, Philadelphia; Dr. and Mrs. Clain-Stefanelli, Curators of numismatics at the Smithsonian Institution; Canon and Mrs. Charles Martin of the National Cathedral in Washington, DC; and family and friends of Miss Jones.

Miss Jones was chosen by President Reagan for the position of Chief Sculptor-Engraver and her nomination was confirmed by the Senate on September 28, 1981. She is only the 11th person to hold this office which dates back to the opening years of the Mint in 1792. She is also the first woman ever to hold this position.

The Chief Sculptor-Engraver is responsible for providing designs for any new coin or medal issues of the Mint and for overseeing the many technical aspects of the minting operations involving dies in relation to design.

Miss Jones is a native of Montclair, New Jersey, however, she has lived, studied and worked in Rome, Italy, for 20 years. She brings with her a strong background in medallic art and a free and fresh style of design.


Miss Bay Buchanan, Treasurer of the United States

Mrs. Donna Pope, Director of the Mint, Washington, D.C.

Dr. Alan Goldman, Deputy Director of the Mint, Washington, D.C.

Miss Eva Adams, Former Director of the U.S. Mint 1961 to to 1969. Under her directorship the new Philadelphia Mint was built and inaugurated in 1969.

Canon Charles Martin & Mrs. Charles Martin, National Cathedral, Washington, D.C.

Dr. & Mrs. Clain-Stefanelli, Curators of Numismatics – coins and medals at the Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.

Dr. & Mrs. Rhys Jones

Mr. & Mrs. Griffith Jones

Griff Jones

Mr. & Mrs. Guy T. Stewart II and 3 sons – Brad, Hugh, Carter

Mrs. Elizabeth Stewart Kret

Mrs. Margo Russell

Fred Bartram

P. M. William

Dr. Sam Kron

Max & Clare Lieberman

Marian Carson

John Davis

David Bahlman

Robert Weber

Nancy Veale

Lawrence Casper

Mr. & Mrs. Frank Veale

Kristi Bloomer

Bob Urban

Rev. Bill Woodhaus

Mr. Roscoe Egger

Ludwig Glaeser

Ed & Mrs. Reiter

Donald Schwartz

Mr. & Mrs. Roy Cahoun

Michael Lantz

Jack Kelly

Thatcher Longstretch, President Phila. Chamber of Commerce

Don Jamieson, Chairman, Repub. Party

Ruth Seltzer, Philadelphia Inquirer

Bill Meehan

Richard Roob

Howard and Nancy Fry

Content last updated on

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.