Citizens Commemorative Coin Advisory Committee Hears Two New Coin Proposals

February 8, 1997

Washington, D.C. – The Citizens Commemorative Coin Advisory Committee (CCCAC) at its meeting Monday, February 24, heard informal presentations for two new commemorative coin proposals, and reviewed designs for the coins authorized to honor baseball legend Jackie Robinson.

Representatives from the United States Olympic Committee proposed to establish, beginning in the year 2000, a recurring, annual, single silver dollar coin program with a limited mintage of 500,000 coins and a $10 surcharge Ato continue the tradition of providing financial assistance to America’s Olympic hopefuls … In years in which the Olympic Games are to be held in the United States, the program would be expanded to include multiple coins and larger mintages.

Representatives from the United States Holocaust Memorial Council presented a proposal for a commemorative coin program in the year 2000 dedicated to Holocaust remembrance and education. The Council also proposes a collaboration with the CCCAC to develop the coin program in conjunction with the Council’s own endowment campaign.

In other business, the Committee reviewed proposed designs for the gold and silver Jackie Robinson coins authorized by Congress and scheduled for release by the Mint this summer.

Public Law 104–329, signed by the President on October 21, 1996, calls for each member of the CCCAC to be appointed for a term of four years, and for staggered terms for designated members.

The numismatic category committee members and their length of terms are Kenneth Bressett of Colorado Springs, CO, President of the American Numismatic Association (ANA), through December 31, 1997; numismatist Reed Hawn from Austin, TX, through December 31, 1999, and Elvira Clain–Stefanelli, Executive Director of the National Numismatic Collection at the National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution, through December 31, 1998.

The general public category committee members and their length of terms are Jules Reiver, a retired mechanical engineer and amateur collector from Wilmington, DE, through December 31, 1999; Elsie Sterling Howard, community activist from Miami Beach, through December 31, 1997, and Thomas V. Shockley III, a Dallas businessman, through December 31, 1998. Charles Atherton of the Commission on Fine Arts serves as a non–voting member.


# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.