Citizens Commemorative Coin Advisory Committee Welcomes Two New Members

August 6, 2002

WASHINGTON — The United States Mint is pleased to announce that Treasury Secretary Paul O’Neill has appointed two new members to the Citizens Commemorative Coin Advisory Committee (CCCAC).

The Secretary has selected Ms. Ute Wartenberg as being specially qualified to serve on the CCCAC by reason of her experience in numismatic collection curation and numismatics. Ms. Wartenberg will bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to the Committee. Ms. Wartenberg, who currently serves as Executive Director of the American Numismatic Society, was previously Assistant Director of the American Numismatic Society, and Assistant Keeper at the British Museum (Curator of Greek Coins). A Rhodes Scholar, Ms. Wartenberg earned both M.A. and Ph.D. (Classical Greek Literature) at Oxford University.

The Secretary also has selected Ms. Connie Matsui to serve as one of the Committee’s three members who represent the interest of the general public. In addition to currently serving as National President of the Girl Scouts of the United States of America, Ms. Matsui is Senior Vice President of IDEC Pharmaceuticals Corporation, located in San Diego, California. Prior to her position with IDEC, Ms. Matsui served as Vice President and Manager of Employee Relations and Communications at Wells Fargo Bank in San Francisco, California. Ms. Matsui, who received her MBA in Marketing and Finance from Stanford University, possesses the broad and varied experience and knowledge to serve as one of the American public’s voices on the CCCAC.

Though all current CCCAC member terms have expired, the Secretary has appointed only two new members now to allow for the gradual transition to new members. The Secretary will select additional members from the remaining candidate pool later this year. In accordance with public law, current members may continue to serve until a successor has been appointed and qualified.

“I congratulate the newest members of the CCCAC on their important appointments,” said United States Mint Director Henrietta Holsman Fore. “We look forward to working with this new group whose combined experience can bring a fresh perspective to the Nation’s commemorative coin programs.”

Established in 1993, the CCCAC identifies and designates events, persons, or places the Committee recommends be commemorated by the issuance of commemorative coins, and makes recommendations with respect to the mintage level for any commemorative coin recommended. The Committee also reviews and comments on proposed designs for commemorative coins and quarter–dollar coins issued under the 50 State Quarters Program.

Membership consists of seven voting members appointed to 4–year terms by the Secretary of the Treasury. Three members are appointed from among individuals specially qualified to serve by reason of their education, training or experience in art, art history, museum or numismatic collection curation, or numismatics. Three members are appointed from among individuals who will represent the interest of the general public. One member is appointed from officers or employees of the United States Mint to represent the interests of the Mint.

The Committee is subject to the direction of the Secretary of the Treasury. The United States Mint is responsible for providing the necessary support services for the Committee. Committee members are not paid for their time or services but, consistent with Federal Travel Regulations, members are reimbursed for their travel and lodging expenses to attend approximately two meetings each year.


# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)