United States Mint Seeks Two New CCCAC Members

November 12, 2002
Mint Reopens Applications For Citizens Commemorative Coin Advisory Panel

WASHINGTON — The United States Mint today announced it is again accepting applications for membership to the Citizens Commemorative Coin Advisory Committee (CCCAC). Applications will be accepted from the public, and all applications must be postmarked no later than December 2, 2002.

“The CCCAC will be vital to the creative infusion we will be seeking from across the nation regarding future commemorative coin designs,” said United States Mint Director Henrietta Holsman Fore. “We look forward to the energy, experience and expertise that new members will bring to the Committee.”

Two CCCAC member terms are now open for candidates, and the United States Mint will review all applications and forward recommendations to the Secretary of the Treasury. The Secretary will consider these recommendations in choosing successors from among these candidates. The current members whose terms have expired may continue to serve until a successor has been appointed and qualified, according to law.

Established in 1993, the CCCAC identifies and designates events, persons, or places the Committee recommends be commemorated by the issuance of commemorative coins, and makes recommendations with respect to the mintage level for any commemorative coin recommended. The Committee also reviews and comments on proposed designs for commemorative coins and the 50 State Quarters Program.

Membership consists of seven voting members appointed to four–year terms by the Secretary of the Treasury. Three members shall be appointed from among individuals specially qualified to serve by reason of their education, training or experience in art, art history, museum or numismatic collection curation, or numismatics. Three members are appointed from among individuals who will represent the interests of the general public, primarily with knowledge of history, youth, or an understanding of American culture and history. One member shall be appointed from officers or employees of the United States Mint to represent the interests of the United States Mint. Charles Atherton of the Commission on Fine Arts currently serves as a non–voting member.

The Committee is subject to the direction of the Secretary of the Treasury. The United States Mint is responsible for providing the necessary support services for the Committee. Committee members are not paid for their time or services, but consistent with Federal travel regulations, members are reimbursed for their travel and lodging expenses to attend approximately two meetings each year.

Candidates should demonstrate experience in the fields of art, art history, museum or numismatic collection curation, or numismatics, or with demonstrated experience with history, education, youth or American heritage and culture. The United States Mint is also interested in candidates who have demonstrated leadership skills, have received recognition by their peers in their field of interest, have a record of participation in public service or activities, and will be able to actively participate in the Committee meetings and related activities.

On August 6, the United States Mint announced that two new CCCAC members had been appointed by Treasury Secretary Paul O’Neill. Ms. Ute Wartenberg, Executive Director of the American Numismatic Society, was selected based on her experience in numismatic collection curation and numismatics, and Ms. Connie Matsui, National President of the Girl Scouts, was selected to serve as one of the Committee’s three members who represent the interest of the general public, primarily the interests of youth.

Any member of the public wishing to be considered for participation on the committee should submit a resume or letter describing qualifications for membership. Applications can be submitted by mail to the United States Mint, 801 9th Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001, Attn: CCCAC Membership, or by e–mail to CCCACmembership@usmint.treas.gov.

Applications submitted previously in 2002 have been retained on file and will be reviewed and considered along with new applicants — it is not necessary to reapply. Applications must be postmarked no later than December 2, 2002.


# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.