United States Mint Unveils Designs of New Circulating Presidential $1 Coins

November 20, 2006
Historic Change On The Way

En Español

Washington, DC — United States Mint Director Edmund C. Moy; Louise Roseman, Director of Reserve Bank Operations and Payments Systems at the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve; and other Federal officials provided a first glimpse of a new series of circulating Presidential $1 Coins at a design unveiling ceremony held today at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Portrait Gallery. The $1 coins are being introduced as a result of the Presidential Coin Act of 2005, which requires the United States Mint to mint the dollar coins commemorating the service of former United States Presidents in the order in which they served.

Like the United States Mint’s successful 50 State Quarters Program on which it was modeled, the Presidential $1 Coin Program features a systematically rotating design. The first four $1 coins will commemorate George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison.

“The new Presidential $1 Coins are an educational and fun way to learn about former Presidents, ” said Director Moy. “Our research indicates that, like the 50 State Quarters coins, the Presidential $1 Coins will be popular with millions of Americans.”

According to a study commissioned by the United States Mint, about half of all Americans are interested in collecting the Presidential $1 Coins – but their appeal does not end with collecting.

“Congress recognized that the 50 State Quarters Program showed how a systematically changing design can spark public interest in a coin and we’re hoping to build on that success,” Director Moy said.

Traditional Subjects, Unique Desig.

The designs of the coins are bold and dramatic, with traditional inscriptions moved to the edge to allow for larger images of the Presidents. These include “E Pluribus Unum” and “In God We Trust,” the year of minting or issuance, and the mint mark, making these coins unique among today’s U.S. circulating coins.

The new Presidential $1 Coins are identical in color and size to the Sacagawea Golden Dollar Coins, and have the same distinctive rim and tactile features to assist the visually impaired. Additionally, the new $1 coins carry the same electromagnetic signature as both the Sacagawea Golden Dollar coin and the Susan B. Anthony dollar coin, making them readily acceptable in vending machines that currently accept dollar coins.

The face of each coin will feature an image of a former President and the years of his term of office. The reverse of the coin shows an image of the Statue of Liberty and the inscriptions “The United States of America” and “$1.”

For downloadable images of the new Presidential $1 Coins, please click here.

Distributed through Banks and Other Financial Institution.

The United States Mint and the Federal Reserve System are working in partnership to make it easy for businesses and members of the general public to obtain the new coins as they are released. The Presidential $1 Coins will be shipped to banks and other financial institutions in rolls, unmixed with other dollar coins. For each new design, banks may order and store the coins up to two weeks prior to the introduction so they will have supplies on hand on the release date. The coins will be available in unmixed rolls for four weeks after the introduction of each design. When each new Presidential $1 Coin is released, the special ordering process begins again.

Presidential Dollar Coin Release Schedul.

Each President will be honored with a single $1 coin, regardless of the number of consecutive terms he served. Grover Cleveland, the only United States President to serve non–consecutive terms, will be honored on two coins. No living former or current President can be honored on a coin.

Year President Years Served
2007 1 George Washington 1789–1797
2 John Adams 1797–1801
3 Thomas Jefferson 1801–1809
4 James Madison 1809–1817
2008 5 James Monroe 1817–1825
6 John Quincy Adams 1825–1829
7 Andrew Jackson 1829–1837
8 Martin Van Buren 1837–1841
2009 9 William Henry Harrison 1841
10 John Tyler 1841–1845
11 James K. Polk 1845–1849
12 Zachary Taylor 1849–1850
2010 13 Millard Fillmore 1850–1853
14 Franklin Pierce 1853–1857
15 James Buchanan 1857–1861
16 Abraham Lincoln 1861–1865
2011 17 Andrew Johnson 1865–1869
18 Ulysses S. Grant 1869–1877
19 Rutherford B. Hayes 1877–1881
20 James A. Garfield 1881
2012 21 Chester A. Arthur 1881–1885
22 Grover Cleveland 1885–1889
23 Benjamin Harrison 1889–1893
24 Grover Cleveland 1893–1897
2013 25 William McKinley 1897–1901
26 Theodore Roosevelt 1901–1909
27 William H. Taft 1909–1913
28 Woodrow Wilson 1913–1921
2014 29 Warren Harding 1921–1923
30 Calvin Coolidge 1923–1929
31 Herbert Hoover 1929–1933
32 Franklin Delano Roosevelt 1933–1945
2015 33 Harry S Truman 1945–1953
34 Dwight David Eisenhower 1953–1961
35 John F. Kennedy 1961–1963
36 Lyndon B. Johnson 1963–1969
2016 37 Richard M. Nixon 1969–1974

# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.