United States Mint Puts First Presidential $1 Coin Into Circulation

February 15, 2007
George Washington to be First in Historic Presidential $1 Coin Series

WASHINGTON – The United States Mint today released into circulation the new George Washington $1 Coin, the first in a series of $1 coins honoring former United States Presidents.

The George Washington $1 Coins are legal tender and can be used for commerce and collecting. All Presidential $1 Coins are designed to work in most coin machines, including parking meters and vending machines.

Modeled after the United States Mint’s successful 50 State Quarters Program, the Presidential $1 Coin Program will feature systematically rotating designs of former United States Presidents. The George Washington $1 Coin marks the first of four Presidential $1 Coins to be released this year, with John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison to roll out later in 2007.

The United States Mint celebrated the debut of the George Washington $1 Coin with a special Presidential $1 Coin Exchange in New York City featuring a brigade of armored cars delivering the coins to Grand Central Terminal. The United States Mint is offering financial institutions and retail businesses nationwide free informational materials via www.usmint.gov/$1coin. Schools and educational organizations can also access lesson plans and other educational tools on the same webpage.

“Americans will soon be receiving Presidential $1 Coins in their change and will find them convenient to use at retailers, car washes and vending machines. I even suspect the tooth fairy will love leaving these beautiful coins under pillows,” said United States Mint Director Edmund C. Moy. “The Presidential $1 Coins will also be educational. Like the 50 State Quarters Program, these coins will invigorate interest in American history.

Presidential $1 Coin Program
The Presidential $1 Coins are being introduced as a result of the Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005, which requires the Secretary of the Treasury to mint and issue $1 coins honoring the United States Presidents in the order in which they served. According to a study commissioned by the United States Mint, about half of Americans surveyed said they are interested in collecting the Presidential $1 Coins — but according to Director Moy, their appeal does not end with collecting.

“Congress recognized that the 50 State Quarters Program showed how a systematically changing design can spark public interest in a circulating coin, and we’re hoping to build on that success,” Director Moy said.

Traditional Subjects, Unique Design
The designs of the coins are bold and dramatic. The traditional inscriptions of “E Pluribus Unum,” “In God We Trust,” the date and the mint mark are featured on the edge of the coins making the Presidential $1 Coins unique among today’s circulating coins.

The new Presidential $1 Coins are identical in color and size to the Golden Dollar featuring Sacagawea, and have the same distinctive rim and tactile features to assist the visually impaired. The face of each coin will feature an original image of a former President and the years of his term of office. The reverse of the coin shows an image of the Statue of Liberty and the inscriptions “United States of America” and “$1.

Distributed through Banks and Other Financial Institutions
The United States Mint and the Federal Reserve System are working together closely to make it easier for businesses and the public to obtain the new coins as they are released. The Presidential $1 Coins will be shipped to banks and other financial institutions in rolls and small bags, unmixed with other dollar coins. For each new coin, banks may order and store the coins up to two weeks prior to the introduction so they will have supplies on hand on the release date. The coins will be available in unmixed rolls and bags for four weeks after the introduction of each design. When each new Presidential $1 Coin is released, the special ordering process begins again.

NEWS MEDIA ONLY: VIDEO AVAILABLE — Satellite Feed of Presidential $1 Coin Exchange: Thursday, February 15, 1:30 – 1:45 PM ET — Coordinates: GA 26, Tr. 9, DL 3880V. Thursday, February 15, 7:30 – 7:45 PM ET — Coordinates: GA 25, Tr. 13, DL 3960V.

Presidential $1 Coin Release Schedule
Each President will be honored with a single $1 coin, regardless of the number of consecutive terms he served, except for Grover Cleveland, the only United States President to serve non–consecutive terms. He will be honored on two coins. No living former or current President can be honored on a coin.

Year President Years Served
2007 1 George Washington 1789–1797
2 John Adams 1797–1801
3 Thomas Jefferson 1801–1809
4 James Madison 1809–1817
2008 5 James Monroe 1817–1825
6 John Quincy Adams 1825–1829
7 Andrew Jackson 1829–1837
8 Martin Van Buren 1837–1841
2009 9 William Henry Harrison 1841
10 John Tyler 1841–1845
11 James K. Polk 1845–1849
12 Zachary Taylor 1849–1850
2010 13 Millard Fillmore 1850–1853
14 Franklin Pierce 1853–1857
15 James Buchanan 1857–1861
16 Abraham Lincoln 1861–1865
2011 17 Andrew Johnson 1865–1869
18 Ulysses S. Grant 1869–1877
19 Rutherford B. Hayes 1877–1881
20 James A. Garfield 1881
2012 21 Chester A. Arthur 1881–1885
22 Grover Cleveland 1885–1889
23 Benjamin Harrison 1889–1893
24 Grover Cleveland 1893–1897
2013 25 William McKinley 1897–1901
26 Theodore Roosevelt 1901–1909
27 William H. Taft 1909–1913
28 Woodrow Wilson 1913–1921
2014 29 Warren Harding 1921–1923
30 Calvin Coolidge 1923–1929
31 Herbert Hoover 1929–1933
32 Franklin Delano Roosevelt 1933–1945
2015 33 Harry S Truman 1945–1953
34 Dwight David Eisenhower 1953–1961
35 John F. Kennedy 1961–1963
36 Lyndon B. Johnson 1963–1969
2016 37 Richard M. Nixon 1969–1974
38 Gerald R. Ford 1974–1977



# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.