United States Mint and The Hermitage Introduce New Andrew Jackson Presidential $1 Coin to the Nation at Home of “Old Hickory”

August 14, 2008

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Hundreds of people gathered today at The Hermitage, the historic home of President Andrew Jackson, outside Nashville, Tenn., to see the new Andrew Jackson Presidential $1 Coin ceremonially released into circulation. Jackson was the seventh President of the United States, and the Nation is honoring this former commander–in–chief with the seventh Presidential $1 Coin. The audience witnessed a ceremonial “pour” of thousands of shiny, new Andrew Jackson Presidential $1 Coins onto a table on the front lawn of the mansion, which sits on more than 1,000 acres.

Afterwards, the crowd lined up to be among the first to exchange their dollar bills for Andrew Jackson Presidential $1 Coins.

“The Andrew Jackson Presidential $1 Coin is convenient to use in many cash transactions and will help educate the Nation on the achievements of our seventh President,” said United States Mint Deputy Director Andrew Brunhart. “There are few more important leaders than Andrew Jackson, and we are grateful for President Jackson’s service to his country.”

More than 300 children from three local elementary schools attended the event, where they each received an Andrew Jackson Presidential $1 Coin from Deputy Director Brunhart and Richard Cowart, the past regent of The Hermitage Board of Directors.

The obverse of this latest coin in the Presidential $1 Coin Program was designed by United States Mint Artistic Infusion Program Master Artist Joel Iskowitz and executed by United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Jim Licaretz. The design features a rendition of “Old Hickory”– a nickname Andrew Jackson acquired during his service in the War of 1812. The reverse design, by Don Everhart, is a dramatic interpretation of the Statue of Liberty, which is portrayed on all the Presidential $1 Coins.

The United States Mint inaugurated the Presidential $1 Coin Program with the George Washington Presidential $1 Coin on February 15, 2007, in time for the Presidents Day holiday. The John Adams Presidential $1 Coin followed on May 17, 2007; the Thomas Jefferson Presidential $1 Coin was launched on August 16, 2007; the James Madison Presidential $1 Coin went into circulation on November 15, 2007; the James Monroe Presidential $1 Coin was released on February 14, 2008; and the John Quincy Adams Presidential $1 Coin was issued on May 15, 2008.

Andrew Jackson served two terms as President from 1829 to 1837. Prior to becoming President, he was the first person from Tennessee to be elected to the U.S. House of Representatives, and he also served in the U.S. Senate. President Jackson considered himself a man of the people and even invited everyone in the country to visit the White House to celebrate his inauguration. He was the last veteran of the Revolutionary War to serve as President of the United States.

Photographs of the circulating Andrew Jackson Presidential $1 Coin are available at /coins/coin-medal-programs/presidential-dollar-coin/andrew-jackson



# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.