United States Mint Launches Franklin Pierce Presidential $1 Coin in Honor of New Hampshire’s Favorite Son

May 20, 2010

CONCORD, N.H. — The United States Mint today introduced the newest Presidential $1 Coin in a ceremony in Concord, New Hampshire. The coin honors Franklin Pierce, the Nation’s 14th President.

“Starting today, millions of coins bearing former President Franklin Pierce’s image will enter into circulation,” said Andy Brunhart, United States Mint Deputy Director. “As these coins move from hand to hand, they will be a reminder of his contribution to our great Nation.”

The event, co–hosted by Franklin Pierce College and the Pierce Brigade, took place at Pierce Manse, the former President’s historic home. The event featured a ceremonial pour of thousands of newly minted Presidential $1 coins bearing Pierce’s portrait. Local school children who attended the event received a Franklin Pierce Presidential $1 Coin as a memento.

The Presidential $1 Coin Act of 2005 (Public Law 109–145) directs the United States Mint to issue four $1 coins each year to honor our Nation’s Presidents in the order they served in office. The Franklin Pierce Presidential $1 Coin is the 14th release in the Presidential $1 Coin Program. The coin’s obverse (heads side) features an image of Franklin Pierce designed by United States Mint Artistic Infusion Program Master Designer Susan Gamble and executed by United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Charles L. Vickers. The reverse (tails side) design, by United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Don Everhart, is a dramatic rendering of the Statue of Liberty, which is portrayed on all the Presidential $1 Coins.

Franklin Pierce, our Nation’s 14th President, was born in Hillsboro, New Hampshire on November 23, 1804. After graduating from college, he studied law and entered politics. He began his career in public service at the age of 24, when he was elected to the New Hampshire legislature, becoming its speaker two years later. In the 1830s, he went to Washington, first as a representative, then as a senator. In 1847, he served briefly as a brigadier general in the Mexican–American War. Largely unknown to the public, Pierce was nominated for President in 1852 by the Democratic Party as a compromise candidate. Partly because of his strong support for the Compromise of 1850, which attempted to mitigate the slavery issue and preserve the Union, he was elected President, serving from 1853 to 1857. Denied re–nomination by his party for President in 1856, Pierce retired from politics at the end of his term. He died on October 8, 1869, in Concord, New Hampshire.

The United States Mint, created by Congress in 1792, is the Nation’s sole manufacturer of legal tender coinage. Its primary mission is to produce an adequate volume of circulating coinage for the Nation to conduct its trade and commerce. The United States Mint also produces proof, uncirculated and commemorative coins; Congressional Gold Medals; and silver, gold and platinum bullion coins.

The United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins


# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.