United States Mint Announces 2013 Presidential $1 Coin Designs

December 17, 2012

WASHINGTON — The United States Mint today announced the designs that will appear on the Presidential $1 Coins in 2013. The obverse (heads sides) of the coins will bear the vivid portraits of former Presidents William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and Woodrow Wilson. The coins’ designers are as follows.

  • William McKinley Presidential $1 Coin obverse – designed and executed by United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Phebe Hemphill
  • Theodore Roosevelt Presidential $1 Coin obverse – designed and executed by United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Joseph Menna
  • William Howard Taft Presidential $1 Coin obverse – designed by United States Mint Artistic Infusion Program (AIP) Master Designer Barbara Fox and executed by United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Michael Gaudioso
  • Woodrow Wilson Presidential $1 Coin obverse – designed and executed by United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Don Everhart

Inscriptions on the obverse of each coin in the Presidential $1 Coin Program include the President’s name, the years in office, a number indicating the order in which he served, and IN GOD WE TRUST. All coins in the program bear a common reverse (tails side) featuring the iconic Statue of Liberty, designed and executed by Everhart. Inscriptions on the reverse are $1 and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. The year of minting or issuance, the mint mark, and E PLURIBUS UNUM are incused on the edge of the coins. The coins will be released at approximately three–month intervals throughout the year beginning in February.

The United States Mint administers the Presidential $1 Coin Program in accordance with Public Law 109–145. Although production of circulating Presidential $1 Coins was suspended in 2011, collectible versions will continue to be available through select United States Mint offerings. For information on the pricing and availability of Presidential $1 Coin Program numismatic products, please visit http://www.usmint.gov/catalog or call 1–800–USA–MINT (872–6468).

The United States Mint was created by Congress in 1792. This year marks the bureau’s 220th anniversary. The United States Mint is the Nation’s sole manufacturer of legal tender coinage and is responsible for producing circulating coinage for the Nation to conduct its trade and commerce. The United States Mint also produces numismatic products, including proof, uncirculated, and commemorative coins; Congressional Gold Medals; and silver and gold bullion coins. The United States Mint’s numismatic programs are self–sustaining and operate at no cost to the taxpayer.


# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.