About the United States Mint

“The Congress shall have the Power . . . To coin Money.” — Constitution of the United States, Article I, Section 8

When the framers of the U.S. Constitution created a new government for their untried Republic, they realized the critical need for a respected monetary system. Up to that point, currency in the U.S. included a mix of foreign and colonial currency, livestock, and produce. Soon after the Constitution’s ratification, Secretary of the Treasury Alexander Hamilton personally prepared plans for a national Mint.

On April 2, 1792, Congress passed The Coinage Act, which created the Mint and authorized construction of a Mint building in Philadelphia, what was then the nation’s capital. This was the first federal building erected under the Constitution. In 1873, the Mint became part of the Department of the Treasury. Learn more about the history of the Mint.

Since our institution’s founding in 1792, the Mint has taken great pride in rendering the story of our nation in coins. To hold a coin or medal produced by the Mint is to connect to the founding principles of our nation and the makings of our economy.

Watch the video below to see how the Mint has made coins over the years.

Here and abroad, people cherish our products because they are stores of value as well as exquisite encapsulations of America’s ideals. In forms designed to be passed from hand to hand and saved from generation to generation, the coins we mint reflect our shared history and traditions. Whether it is learning to count with pennies, understanding the value of saving through the weight of a piggy bank or remembering the coin toss at your first football game, coins connect us to many of our fondest memories.

Perhaps most importantly, the Mint connects us with the core values of America. From the great promise of our “E Pluribus Unum” credo beneath the banner of Liberty, each coin is a small share in the ongoing American experience, linking us in an unbroken line to our country’s—and the Mint’s—origins in the Constitution.

The Mint is the Nation’s sole manufacturer of legal tender coinage and is responsible for producing circulating coinage for the Nation to conduct its trade and commerce.

The Mint also produces coin-related products, including proof, uncirculated, and commemorative coins; Congressional Gold Medals; and silver and gold bullion coins. The Mint’s programs are self-sustaining and operate at no cost to the taxpayer.


The mission of the Mint is to serve the American people by manufacturing and distributing circulating, precious metal and collectible coins and national medals, and providing security over assets entrusted to us.


David Croft, Acting Deputy Director of the United States Mint.Acting Deputy Director David M. Croft joined the U.S. Mint in 2007 as the Plant Manager of the Denver Mint. He transferred to Washington, DC in 2014 and held positions as the Associate Director of Manufacturing and Acting Chief Administrative Officer before becoming the Acting Deputy Director in February 2018. Read his full biography on the Director’s Office page.


The Mint operates six facilities across the United States. Each facility performs unique functions.

For information about U.S. paper currency, please contact the Bureau of Engraving and Printing.