Mutilated Coin Redemption Program

Pile of mutilated coins.The United States Mint established the Mutilated Coin Redemption Program so people and businesses could exchange bent and partial coins (commonly referred to as mutilated coins) for reimbursement. The information in this section outlines the process for submitting mutilated coins for reimbursement.

Submission requirements vary depending on how much is submitted annually and whether you submit as an individual or a company. The varying requirements help to appropriately process all mutilated coin shipments. Mutilated coins submitted for redemption must meet the acceptance criteria listed below. Go to the Instructions page to begin your application.

Contact us with questions at or 202-354-7760.

For detailed information about the program, read the Frequently Asked Questions or Final Rule.

PLEASE NOTE: We appreciate the public’s patience during the suspension of the mutilated coin redemption program. We anticipate an extremely high volume of applications to submit bent and partial coin when the program resumes. Applications will be reviewed in the order they are received. For shipments over 70 lbs, applicants must wait to be contacted by the U.S. Mint to schedule delivery at an appropriate time and location.

U.S. Mint Material Acceptance Criteria

The U.S. Mint accepts for redemption:

  • Bent or partial coins
  • Weighing no less than 1 pound (0.4536 kilograms)
  • Separated by denomination category: Penny, Nickel, Dime, Quarters, Halves, and Eisenhower Dollars; Susan B. Anthony Dollars, Sacagawea Golden Dollar, and Presidential $1 coins

The U.S. Mint will not accept for redemption:

  • Bent or partial coins that are not readily and clearly identifiable as to the genuineness and denomination of the coins
  • Bent and partial coins not presented separately by denomination category in lots of at least 1 pound for each denomination
  • Fused coins
  • Mixed coins, with the exception of bent or partial one-cent coins and $1 coins presented in mixed years

Unacceptable items, not classified as mutilated coins, that the U.S. Mint does not redeem are:

Content last updated on