United States Mint Announces 2014 Presidential $1 Coin Designs

November 26, 2013

WASHINGTON — The United States Mint today released the designs that will appear on the obverse (heads sides) of the 2014 Presidential $1 Coins. The coins honor former Presidents Warren G. Harding, Calvin Coolidge, Herbert Hoover, and Franklin D. Roosevelt. Line art of the new designs is available at /news/image-library/news-image-gallery.

The following talented pool of United States Mint Sculptor–Engravers designed and executed the coins’ obverse designs:

  • Warren G. Harding Presidential $1 Coin – United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Michael Gaudioso, designer and engraver
  • Calvin Coolidge Presidential $1 Coin – United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Phebe Hemphill, designer and engraver
  • Herbert Hoover Presidential $1 Coin – United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Phebe Hemphill, designer and engraver
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential $1 Coin – United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Joseph Menna, designer and engraver

Inscriptions on the obverse of each coin in the Presidential $1 Coin Program include the President’s name, term in office, the order in which he served, and IN GOD WE TRUST.

The reverse (tails side) of all coins in the Presidential $1 Coin Program features a rendition of the Statue of Liberty, designed and executed by United States Mint Sculptor–Engraver Don Everhart.

Inscriptions on the reverse are $1 and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. The year of minting or issuance, the mint mark, and E PLURIBUS UNUM are incused on the edge of the coins. The coins will be released at approximately three–month intervals throughout the year beginning in February.

The United States Mint administers the Presidential $1 Coin Program in accordance with Public Law 109–145. Although production of circulating Presidential $1 Coins was suspended in 2011, collectible versions will continue to be available through select United States Mint offerings. For information on the pricing and availability of Presidential $1 Coin Program numismatic products, please visit http://www.usmint.gov/catalog or call 1–800–USA–MINT (872–6468).

The United States Mint was created by Congress in 1792 and became part of the Department of the Treasury in 1873. It is the Nation’s sole manufacturer of legal tender coinage and is responsible for producing circulating coinage for the Nation to conduct its trade and commerce. The United States Mint also produces numismatic products, including proof, uncirculated, and commemorative coins; Congressional Gold Medals; and silver and gold bullion coins. The United States Mint’s numismatic programs are self–sustaining and operate at no cost to the taxpayer.


# # #

United States Mint – Connecting America through Coins

Press Inquiries: Office of Corporate Communications (202) 354-7222
Customer Service Information: (800) USA MINT (872-6468)

A list of linkable tags for topics mentioned on this page.